Arizona Hunting Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
293 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Welp, I finally got out in the desert after some deer. And while I'm seeing some deer, I'm only seeing Coues does. This is my first year hunting western big game, and a Muley buck has been my dream hunt since I was a kid, I only thought I would get my first chance for one in Idaho or Montana, not Arizona lol.
I think my biggest issue is that I'm hunting too high, but I wanted to hear from you guys about elevations and deer behaviours. I've been hunting the OTC tag in 24B, between 4000'-5500', and like I said, I'm on deer, but I really want a Muley. Should I stick to those elevations and maybe some muleys will turn up if I keep looking? Or, should I change spots and hunt a bit lower in elevation (down to 3000' or so)?...Or am I better off swapping units altogether? I live in Tempe, so I'm trying to stay within driving distance (2hrs max) of home for a hunt. I've poured over maps, and I think I may be able to find deer in 22S (I hear it gets pounded, but then again, so does 24B I think).

I'm not looking to kill a Book Buck, I just want to fill my freezer and check an item off my bucket list while doing it. What do you guys think?

·
Super Moderator
14,489 Posts
22 is your ticket, go to 3 bar, or around sunflower to west, west of Balantene trail head off of hwy 87. all good Mule deer habitat.

·
Registered
376 Posts
+1 Like bear said above... I have seen mule deer in 22 too. I have not hunt that unit for deer (probably should) but they are there for sure when I go up there for Elk.

I always keep in mind, if I want to increase my chances, "habitat". Water, Food and Hideouts/Bedding. Lakes and Rivers are great water sources obviously but the area to hunt is massive. Narrow it down where they will eat and bed... glass and check for sign.