Draw is up!

Discussion in 'Hunting Lounge' started by TallPaul, Jul 24, 2006.

1. TallPaul

TallPaul Guest

2. Desert Rat

Desert Rat Super Mod Mod

I drew a 34A Coues Tag. That's good enough for me. There's too much going on with trying to sell the house and move - to deal with a lope or elk tag...

3. Well isn't this just like a swift kick to me lucky charms... :shock: :shock: :roll:
    Struck out this year looks like. I guess it's archery deer for me. Anyone interested in an archery Kiabab hunt?
    I'm thinking I just may have to give that a shot, but I'm an archery rookie. Any intrest? Any tips?
    Thanks in advance.
    Ron

4. Dutchman, my hint for archery deer - pick a different unit. The strip country gets overwhelmed during archery season with Az folks that didn't get drawn and more out-of-staters than you can shake a stick at. If you want a little elbow room and not too many people try somewhere south of I-40. And when Dec hits try the desert areas, all you need to do is hunt water. If you find a tank with fresh sign and can sit it from 07:00 to 10:00 3 days in a row you will have deer come in. And jan is when the mule deer rut kicks in, that is a good time to hunt too.

5. Thanks AZslim, I appreciate the advice. I'm not too much for crowds, and would much rather have a little elbow room.
    Now that I think about it, South of I40 would be a whole lot more economical too. My old truck will get me there, but I need frequent gas stops.
    Thanks again.

6. Oh yea, I got 5BS archery bull, my daughters got cow tags in the Limited Op units and my youngest got her deer tag in 42. Looks like no sitting home pouting for me this fall. Now if I can just get some guiding business thrown in I will be estatic.

7. I drew unit 21 December whitetail and that was it.