Arizona Hunting Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a 1st year masters student at midwestern university - Glendale. I am doing research on Kinkajous and need a raccoon for anatomical comparison. I do not wish to hunt myself and just need a carcass. Please no roadkill, hindlimbs intact and I can come pick it up and preserve it myself. No outside steps needed on your end.

Please let me know if there is any possibility of obtaining this.

Thank You
Shelby

·
Super Moderator
3,763 Posts
Shelby,
Give Arizona Game and Fish a call and see if they might be able to help. 602-942-3000

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Shelby,
Give Arizona Game and Fish a call and see if they might be able to help. 602-942-3000
I did email them and they said noone had turned any in as of recent. Thank You for the number and I will try again.

·
Registered
2,681 Posts
Not very many **** hunters close by. Verde valley members might be helpful. I would also double check on the legality of transferring possession of a specimen. The AZ state lab on van Buren sometimes gets them in, also check with USFS as well. For educational research purposes I'm sure there would be other easy channels to acquire carcass

·
Super Moderator
13,971 Posts
ADOT would be a good resource also, they remove from roadway to throw them over the guardrail or to side of road in the bushes..

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Not very many **** hunters close by. Verde valley members might be helpful. I would also double check on the legality of transferring possession of a specimen. The AZ state lab on van Buren sometimes gets them in, also check with USFS as well. For educational research purposes I'm sure there would be other easy channels to acquire carcass
Thank You I will check all avenues

·
Premium Member
2,164 Posts