New to Arizona and the SW

Discussion in 'Hunting Lounge' started by Shell Bleiweiss, Apr 22, 2018.

1. Hi. I am an experienced hunter (whitetail, turkey, duck, dove, pheasant, etc.) from IL now living in Sedona. My experience hunting out west is minimal. I am having a hard time getting started out here. In need of a/some good mentors please. Thanks in advance. By the way, interested in fishing too.

2. Welcome. Its like any other hunting really. Got to get after them. F&G regs will give you good starting areas to hunt, be it deer, bird ect.

3. It is so different out here! First virtually all public land. Second huge. Third, mostly no vehicles allowed in. I could go on. You are right, I could tough it out by myself starting from scratch, but it would be more fun and easier, more effective to have a mentor.

4. Welcome to the forum...lots of good information here, I hear the G&F Manager is a great resource....Many here will tell ya (I am relatively new to hunting and still learning lots myself) "boots on the ground".

My suggestion, sorry if it sounds like being an A$%44...read the regs, read the postings here, call G&F, be specific about your questions here in the forum, and I believe (might be wrong) many here will be happy to help.

Welcome again!

Ramspeed likes this.
  5. You can hunt any of the species you mentioned although the pheasant opportunity is very limited. Deer, turkey, javelina and a few other draws are due in June. You need to live in-state for 6 months to buy a resident license and tags so you may want to hold off on big game or pay more premium prices. You can definitely do small game and get out and explore the areas. An AZ hunter safety course buys you a bonus point on all your draws and is pretty easy to do. Public land is great and there is a lot of it. Try to hookup with your local wildlife officer and don't be bashful about asking specific questions here.

Ramspeed likes this.