Arizona Hunting Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm non-resident from Utah and drew my first AZ elk tag. I know scouting before hand may not give me much intel as the elk will migrate off the rim or be pushed down on the late hunts from what I've read. I do plan on making a trip down there this summer to get a lay of the land.

How has the moisture been on this unit over the last several months?

·
Premium Member
2,124 Posts
Welcome! Check out the Welcome and Orientation section of the forum and tell us a little bit about yourself.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome! Check out the Welcome and Orientation section of the forum and tell us a little bit about yourself.
Thanks for the reply. I'm 42 years old, born and raised in Utah. I've been hunting my whole life and I basically ride a desk for a living. Hunting is life and I'm excited to be hunting elk in AZ this year even if I haven't heard a lot of good things about this unit...haha.

Drawing a decent to good quality rifle elk unit in Utah can take many years plus there's a 5 year waiting period before you can apply again if you draw.

·
Registered
1,550 Posts
No elk in 22N during the late rifle. With that being said, you got my tag. How many points did you enter the draw with. Late rifle or late late rifle?

·
Premium Member
2,124 Posts
22N is a great unit and there are a lot of Elk there. The late rifle is a tough hunt though after the animals have been shot at for nearly 5 months by then. It's DRY here. The unit is large and there are elk throughout especially in winter. I am sure you don't want to hear this but the Elk are where you find them. Water is always key in Arizona but the unit actually has perennial water unlike other AZ units.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
No elk in 22N during the late rifle. With that being said, you got my tag. How many points did you enter the draw with. Late rifle or late late rifle?